遠東集團

About FEG

Chairman's Message

More than a year has passed since the financial crisis, and the global economy is beginning to flourish. The major authoritative forecasting organization IMF has forecast that the world economy will grow at rates of 4.4% and 4.5% in 2011 and 2012 respectively. However, due to many uncertainties, the future is sure to bring many unexpected and unpredictable changes.

Global warming, frequent natural disasters

Global warming is continuing, and national disasters have been frequent. For instance, Australia suffered its biggest floods in 120 years. China and Argentina have encountered severe droughts, and Europe and the United States were affected by major blizzards. A magnitude 9 earthquake struck Japan on March 11 of this year, and the tsunami caused by this quake reached a height of 38.9 m. Some cities in northeastern Japan were wiped out by this disaster, which also caused disastrous damage to the Fukushima nuclear power plant. Apart from the deaths, property losses, and economic damage induced by this quake, global industrial supply chains also suffered a major blow.
Furthermore, Munich Re—the worlds leading reinsurance company—has pointed out that as climate change has intensified, while the average number of natural disasters occurring annually worldwide was 785 over the past 10 years, 950 disasters occurred in 2010, which had the second greatest number of natural disasters since 1980; the natural disasters occurring 2010 cost 295,000 lives and caused property losses exceeding US$130 billion.

There is no doubt that natural disasters are growing more unpredictable and increasingly large in magnitude, and they are certainly having a major impact on the world economy and corporate operations. As a consequence, efforts to protect the environment, counter global warming, and reduce the incidence of natural disasters are not only important public interest activities, but are also key links in corporate crisis management.

Intensifying regional conflicts

Although the threat of world war has receded during the post-Cold War era, regional conflicts and terrorist attacks have continued unabated. For instance, the “Cheonan incident” between North and South Korea aggravated tensions in East Asia; North Africa’s jasmine revolution and the civil war in Libya caused petroleum prices to soar; and the recent assassination of Osama bin Laden caused the United States to issue a global travel warning. It is apparent that individual regional crises can impact economic development worldwide in today’s global environment.

Rapid movements of hot money causing rising commodity prices have increased downside risk for the global economy

When the 2008 financial tsunami first struck the US economy, the American government implemented its QE1 and QE2 quantitative easing policies, which involved the release of US$2.7 trillion, in order to resuscitate the economy. In addition, the Bank of Japan released ¥21.8 trillion in order to meet post-earthquake liquidity and reconstruction needs. Since the market was now flush with cash, hot money flooded into Asia and other emerging markets, causing the prices of petroleum, precious metals, agricultural products, and other raw materials to soar. As a result, Asia and other emerging economies face strong import-driven price inflation. According to IMF data, the CPI of emerging and developing economies can be expected to rise to 6.9% in 2011, which will be an increase of 1.7 percentile from 5.2% in 2009. Although CPI will increase more slowly in the advanced economies, it is still expected to rise from 1% in 2009 to 2.2% in 2011. In order to fight inflation, emerging and developing countries have begun adopting tightening monetary policies, which is in complete opposition to the policies adopted by the US and Japan. For example, China has increased interest rates four times since 2010, and has hiked its deposit reserve rate 11 times to a historically high level of 21%.

Over the past two years, Asian and emerging economies have played an important role in helping the global economy recover from the financial tsunami and achieve revival. Today these economies are suffering from dynamic and import inflation caused by the volatility of the dollar. The unbalanced state of global economic development has significantly increased downside risk for the world economy.

Taiwan is a small, open economy, and exports account for more than 60% of total GDP. It is self-evident that uncertain state of the global economy is having an immense impact on Taiwan’s economy. However, after several decades of energetic development, Taiwan possesses two key advantages that are difficult for others to copy: The first is that Taiwan plays a major role in global operations and is capable of great agility: Taiwan’s corporate customers and vendors span every corner of the globe; thanks to their global deployment and high degree of responsiveness, Taiwan’s companies can swiftly adjust their production-marketing strategies and structures minimizing the impact of economic disturbances. The second is that Taiwan’s increasing openness with China has boosted its trade advantages: In the wake of the signing of the Economic Cooperation Framework Agreement (ECFA), Taiwan and China have formed what Japanese business strategist Dr. Kenichi Ohmae referred to as a “two-country economic sphere,” which has further enhanced Taiwan’s trade strength.

Taking the Far Eastern Group as an example, the Group currently contains 229 companies; apart from Taiwan and China, the Group has business locations throughout Japan, Southeast Asia, and North America. In addition, major international companies as Invista, Dow, DuPont, Mitsui, NTT DoCOMo, Freudenberg, DWS, SingTel, and China Mobile are engaging in widespread cooperation with the Group in areas as petrochemicals, fibers/textiles, retail, finance, and telecommunications. Since the 1990’s, the Far Eastern Group has aggressively expanded in China. The Group’s main areas of investment consist of the central eastern and central northern economic region, the Yangtze Delta economic region, the mid-stream Yangtze River economic region, and the Chengyu economic region. The Group has focused its attention on areas closely connected with China’s economic take off, including fibers/textiles, cement, and retailing. With Far Eastern Industries (Shanghai) being the epicenter, the Group consolidated petrochemicals, polyester and synthetic fiber resources in cites including Shanghai, Suzhou and Wuxi and completed the vertical integration of these businesses. Furthermore, Sino Belgium Beer (Suzhou) Limited, a joint venture with Belgium’s renowned Martens Brewery, commenced operations in 2008. In the cement industry, the Group completed integration of Sichuan Yadong, Hubei Yadong, Jiangxi Yadong, Nanchang Yadong, Yangzhou Yadong Cement Companies and Shanghai Yali Cement Product Co., Ltd., to form a T-shape strategic deployment in the upstream and midstream areas of the Yangtze River. These firms are currently producing 22.4 million tons of cement annually, and the Group expects to become one of China’s ten largest cement producers. Asia Cement (China) Holding was also successfully listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange on May 20, 2008. The Group’s retail and department store businesses in China have adopted a dual-brand strategy focusing on Far Eastern and SOGO department stores. The Group’s department store and retailing operations are concentrated in the Beijing/Tianjin/Dalian areas of central northeast China, Shanghai/Wuxi areas of the Yangtze Delta, and the Chengdu/Chongqing areas of the Chengyu region. When Far EasTone Telecommunications signed a strategic alliance agreement with China Mobile in 2009, this set a precedent for cross-Strait telecommunications cooperation. Apart from petrochemicals, fibers/textiles, cement, department stores, and telecommunications, the Far Eastern Group has been vigorously developing such other areas as finance and shipping.

Thanks to a flexible, versatile business system based on globalization and diversification, the Far Eastern Group has successfully carved out markets in China and embarked on a new growth curve. This initiative has enabled the Far Eastern Group to survive the financial tsunami and lay the foundation for another growth surge. Nevertheless, many uncontrollable variables may affect the Group’s ability to overcome difficulties and seize an advantage. These variables include the structural changes underway in the Chinese market over the last few years, as well as major international economic fluctuations. From the perspective of business operations, although we perhaps cannot change trends in the external environment, we can adjust our attitudes and expectations, so that we can respond appropriately to the environment. As Asia becomes the world’s next economic-political focal point, as global warming, climate change, and fluctuations in the prices of raw materials continue unabated, and as technological innovations rapidly reshape market competition, we must rethink, rebuilt, and reinvent. We must review our goals, strategies, organization, and personnel to determine whether we are able to meet the brand-new challenges of today.

The Far Eastern Group emerged from Shanghai and reestablished its operations in Taiwan in 1949. Over the past six decades, the Group has constantly adjusted its business strategy to keep up with the times. As a result, the Group has transformed from traditional industries to high-tech and ventured from manufacturing into diverse service sectors as it met the needs of Taiwan and expanded into China and the rest of the world. We have thus built a business empire spanning 10 major industries, including petrochemicals & energy, polyester & synthetic fiber, cement & building materials, retail/department stores, sea/land transportation, construction, hotels, financial services, communications & Internet, and philanthropies. The Group’s operating assets total NT$1,774.5 billion, or US$61.2 billion. Nine Group companies are listed at home and abroad, namely Far Eastern New Century, Asia Cement, Far Eastern Department Stores, Far Eastern International Bank, Oriental Union Chemical Corporation, U-Ming Marine Transport, Everest Textile, Far EasTone Telecommunications, and Asia Cement (China) Holdings.

Looking ahead to the future, the Far Eastern Group will take “expansion of scale of operations, strengthening of R&D and innovation, and promotion of green development and sustainable growth” as its core development strategies, and will strive to realize its goal of having first-rate companies in all industries, while continuously creating value for customers, stockholders, employees, and society.

What form should Far Eastern take in a new century with a highly volatile business environment? Although we do not necessarily know all the answers at present, we do know that we will continue to uphold the Group’s founding spirit of “Sincerity, Diligence, Thrift, Prudence, and Innovation” and will constantly rethink, rebuild, and reinvent ourselves. Riding the crest of a wave, we will give the Group new substance and vitality, create new growth momentum, and give the world a model for first-class corporations.

遠東集團

集团简介

董事长箴言

走过「金融海啸」迄今已一年多,全球经济看似欣欣向荣,主要权威预测机构IMF也预测 2011 及2012 年全球经济成长仍达4.4%及4.5%,但在诸多不确定的因素冲击下,未来的变化已显得更为诡谲多变而难以捉摸。

全球暖化、天灾频传

首先,全球暖化、天灾频传;包括澳洲发生120年来最大洪灾,中国及阿根廷干旱,欧美地区遭逢暴风雪侵袭,今年3月11日,日本更遭逢9级大地震的袭击,伴随地震而来的海啸掀起高达38.9公尺的巨浪,不仅使日本东北地区部份城市遭受毁灭性破坏,更引发「福岛核电厂」危机事件,此事件不仅对日本造成生命、财产及实体经济的重大伤害,全球产业供应炼也遭受重大冲击。
此外全球龙头再保险公司-慕尼黑再保险公司(Munich Re)也指出;随着气候变化不断加剧,过去10年来,平均每年发生785起天灾,而2010年共发生950 起天灾,创下1980年以来天灾第2严重的一年,造成29万5000人丧生,财产损失达1300亿美元。

毫无疑问的,天灾的不可测性及规模越来越大,已对全球经济及企业经营产生重大的影响。环保抗暖化、降低自然灾害,已不仅是公益活动,更已成为企业危机管理的一环。

区域冲突升温

在后冷战时期,虽已不再出现大规模的全球性战争,但区域性的冲突及恐怖攻击却不断发生,例如南韩「天安舰事件」升高亚洲紧张局势;北非茉莉花革命、利比亚战火延烧,促使原油价格飙升新高,近期「宾拉登狙击」事件,已迫使美国发布全球旅游警讯。看似单一区域性的危机,在全球化的环境下已无可避免的将冲击全球经济的发展。

热钱流窜、推升物价飙涨、已升高全球经济的下行风险

2008 年的「金融海啸」重创美国经济,美国为挽救国内经济,实施QE1及QE2量化宽松货币政策,释出2.7兆美元,再加上日本央行为满足大地震后的流动性与重建需求释出21.8兆日圆,一时间市场"钱满为患",一波波热钱涌入亚洲及新兴市场并大幅炒作石油、贵金属、农产品等原物料价格,导致亚洲及新兴经济体面临输入型通货膨胀的压力。根据IMF的数据显示,新兴及发展中国家(Emerging and Developing Economies) 2011年的CPI预估将上升至6.9%,较2009年的5.2%增加1.7个百分点,先进经济体(Advance Economies)虽较缓和,但预估也将由2009年的1%上升至2.2%。为对抗通膨,新兴及发展中国家已开始采取与美国、日本完全相反的紧缩货币政策,以中国为例,自2010年以来已升息四次,调升存款准备率11次,达21%的历史高水平。

过去两年,亚洲及新兴经济体已成为协助全球经济走出金融海啸、迈向复苏的重要引擎,而今则正为美元狂潮所带来的过多动性及输入性通膨所苦。很明显的,全球经济发展的不均衡,已升高全球经济的下行风险。

台湾是一个小型开放的经济体,出口占整体GDP超过60%,全球经济情势的不确定性,对台湾经济的冲击不言可喻。不过台湾在经历数十年的努力发展后,已拥有两项重要而难以取代的优势,第一:全球运筹、灵活应变;台湾企业的客户及供货商遍布全球各个角落,透过全球运筹及灵活应变,企业得以迅速调整产销策略及结构,将冲击降到最低。第二:两岸开放,扩大贸易优势;两岸签署ECFA之后,台湾与中国将形成大前研一所提「两国一经济圈」,台湾企业的贸易优势将更加提升。

以远东集团为例;目前有229家公司,除台湾及中国大陆外,在日本,东南亚、北美等地区皆设有营运据点,更与INVISTA, DOW, DuPont, Mitsui, NTT DoCOMo, Freudenberg, DWS, SingTel,China Mobile等国际性公司在石化、纺纤、零售、金融、电信等产业进行广泛的合作。在大陆布局方面,自1990年代开始,远东集团即积极布局大陆市场,主要的投资区域聚焦于华东北经济区、长三角经济区、长江中游经济区与成渝经济区等四大经济区,在产业布局的策略上以掌握经济起飞基础需求的纺纤、水泥与零售为发展主轴,包括以远纺工业(上海)为核心之石化、聚酯化纤产业已结合上海、苏州、无锡等地之资源完成上下游一条龙垂直整合之布局,而与比利时啤酒商 Martens合资成立的中比啤酒(苏州),也于2008年正式投产。在水泥事业方面则已完成四川亚东、湖北亚东、江西亚东、南昌亚东、扬州亚东、上海亚力等以长江上、中、下游为发展腹地之"T"字型战略布局,目前产能已达年产水泥 2,240万吨,目标朝向成为中国前十大水泥营运商,亚泥中国控股公司亦在2008年5月20日于香港成功上市。百货零售事业则以SOGO百货及远东百货之双品牌策略,积极在华东北的北京/天津/大连,长三角的上海/无锡,以及成渝的成都/重庆展开布局。2009年远传电信与中国移动签订策略联盟协议,则开启了两岸电信业合作的先例。除石化、纺纤、水泥、百货、电信等事业之外,其它如金融、航运等,也在积极规划部署中。

以全球化、多元化的发展策略架构弹性、灵活的营运体系,以成功的两岸布局,开创成长的第二曲线,是远东集团勇渡「金融海啸」,迈向另一个高峯的基石。惟,即便掌握突破难关的关键优势,仍存在许多无法掌控的变量,这其中包括中国市场这几年结构性的转变以及国际经济的大幅波动。从企业经营的角度来看,外部环境的变化我们或许无法改变,但是我们可以调整自己,对环境作出「应变」。在全球政经板块向亚洲倾斜之际,在全球暖化、气候剧变、原物料大幅波动难以预料之际、在科技创新迅速改变市场竞争态势之际,我们必须重新自我省思《Rethink》、强化组织再造《Rebuild》、持续自我革新《Reinvent》,以审视自己的目标、策略、组织及人员规划是否能接受这种全新的挑战。

远东集团发迹于上海,后于1949年在台复业,六十年来,集团的经营策略始终随着时代的潮流脉动,做适当的调整,由传统产业迈入高科技事业,由生产制造跨入服务领域,由满足岛内需求进而全球运筹、布局中国,一步一脚印,建构涵盖石化能源、聚酯化纤、水泥建材、零售百货、海陆运输、营造建筑、观光旅馆、金融服务、通讯网络及社会公益等十个主要事业体系,营运资产规模达到新台币 1兆7745亿元(612亿美元),国内外并已有远东新世纪、亚洲水泥、远东百货、远东银行、东联化学、裕民航运、宏远兴业、远传电信及亚泥中国等九家上市公司。

展望未来,远东集团将以「扩大经营格局」、「强化研发创新」、「推动绿色发展、永续成长」为核心发展策略,并秉持以成为各产业第一流的公司为目标,不断的为顾客、股东、员工及社会创造新价值。

经营的环境瞬息万变,在新的世纪里,新的远东应该呈现什么模样,我们未必能立即知道所有答案,但是我确定知道的是;远东将秉持「诚勤朴慎、创新」的立业精神,并时时反思《Rethink》、再造《Rebuild》、革新《Reinvent》,站在趋势的浪头上,为企业注入新的内涵与活力,创造出新的成长动能,展现世界一流企业的典范。